Middletown Township

Township Committee



Mayor Stephanie C. Murray   732-615-2024
Deputy Mayor Stephen G. Massell  732-615-2024
Committeeman Anthony P. Fiore  732-615-2015
Committeeman Gerard P. Scharfenberger, PhD   732-615-2015
 Committeeman Kevin M Settembrino  732-615-2015

Contact the Township Committee

Township of Middletown operates under the  Township Committee form of government. Five members are elected at-large to staggered three-year terms. The Township Committee conducts a reorganization meeting annually in January.  At this meeting the Township Committee elects one of the five members to serve as Mayor and one to serve as Deputy Mayor for a one-year term. The Mayor chairs Township Committee meetings and performs other duties as the Township Committee and the state law prescribes.

The Township Committee is the legislative and executive body of the township. The Township Committee has the responsibility for passing laws and setting policies that affect the township. The Township Committee appoints the Township Administrator. He is responsible for carrying out the Committee’s decisions and overseeing day-to-day operations. 

Township Committee meetings are generally held the first and third Monday of each month. Meetings are open to the public.  View the calendar for upcoming meeting dates.  Meeting agendas, minutes, resolutions and ordinances are maintained by the Township Clerk. Documents are also available at Town Hall.

Contact the Township Committee By Phone
Residents can contact Township Committee members through the Township Clerk’s Office at 732-615-2015.

By Mail
Correspondence can be sent be sent to the entire Township Committee via e-mail or postal mail. Use the links above to e-mail the entire committee or an individual member. Mail written correspondence to:  Middletown Township Committee, c/o Township Clerk’s Office, 1 Kings Highway, Middletown, NJ 07748.